Book Announcement: The Mirror of Desire Unbidden

"As for myself," said Eomer, "I have little knowledge of these deep matters; but I need it not."
Newborn of Lothlorien
Dear Mr. Giovanni Carmine Costabile,

We’re excited to let you know that your book The Mirror of Desire Unbidden is now in production and will be typeset and formatted, to be ready for publication.

Peter Lang International Academic Publishers

The Mirror of Desire Unbidden: Retrieving the Imago Dei in Tolkien and Late Medieval English Literature sets Tolkien’s theory of Fantasy against the backdrop of Western history of phantasia, all the way back to the Biblical notion of image of God and the Hellenic concept of phantasm. The historical change into the judgment of the imaginative faculty shaped mainstream Christianity in associating fantasy with adultery throughout the following centuries. The emergence of the fantastic, Arthurian Legend, and Courtly Love in the 12th century might be seen as a countertendency, but Tolkien rather follows late Middle English authors such as Chaucer and the Gawain-Poet in their refusal of adultery, removing sexuality from his narrative, despite its conspicuous presence in medieval texts. An investigation into the reason for, and modalities of, the removal, affords the opportunity to clarify Tolkien’s poetics and his theology, finalized to the fictional retrieval of the female Imago Dei.

Artwork: Lady Galadriel by Ted Nasmith

Keywords: #tolkien, #Chaucer, #gawain, #fantasy, #woman, #sexuality, #adultery

Newborn of Lothlorien
The book is scheduled to be published on 20 May.

New Soul
Nice! :thumbs:
Just call me Aiks or Aikári. Notify is off.
Find me stuff in Gondolin.
And let us embark to Valinor!

Newborn of Lothlorien
Thanks! :smile:

Guardian of the Golden Wood
I don't understand at all!
1. I thought that with the Halls of Injustice we reduced 3000 words to two paragraphs, not inflated it into an entire book!
2. What is the media adaptation? The book itself?